American Idol – Shout to the Lord

I am an unashamed fan of American Idol, though I have never been crazy about the name, but that’s another story. What I like is the music and the lack of “drama” that often comes with other reality shows. By that I mean, we don’t see petty arguments, back-stabbing, or secret alliances between contestants. Mostly the show is just about music and I like music.

Last night’s show was the Idol Gives Back show that raised 76 million last year for various worldwide charities, including those who operate within our own county. Anyway, they were doing it again last night and if you are unaware, their were numerous celebrities who participated (taped segments, performances, etc…). It was all very good and entertaining and I hope successful again.

Now to the point of this post: at the very end of the show the AI contestants sang Darlene Zschech’s worship anthem “Shout to the Lord” with one variation (replacing Jesus with Shepherd). I was in disbelief when I saw it and am still in amazement that it was done. I also am still not sure what I think, although my initials thoughts are generally positive. I am also curious as to how non-Christians perceived the song. Is it just another “inspirational” song ? Are some offended and why? Are some curious as I am?

Update:  The final eight sang the song again tonight at the beginning of the elimination show.  This time with the original words (“My Jesus, My Savior”).  I am still amazed by this, but my wife thinks I’m crazy (but what’s new).

10 responses to this post.

  1. david cook to win

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on April 10, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I definitely like David Cook and, with the exception of this week’s performance, has been consistently good. He will get a run from Carley as well.

    Reply

  3. Posted by simplyangel on April 10, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I was pretty surprised and pleased by the song at the end too. I have seen Jesus/Chrisitanity quite a bit thru idol this season with different references in songs/talks about the contestants lives/etc……..not sure what to think but do find it interesting…….

    Reply

  4. Posted by simplyangel on April 10, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    oh and btw David Cook is my fave too !!! Goooooooooo David !

    Reply

  5. My family says they sang the song on AI again. (I wouldn’t know, unlike you, Adam!)

    We’re discussing it over at the Shomo Family Blog. This can only mean, it seems, that they know they have a large Christian audience that they want to tap into (for noble or ignoble purposes).

    Reply

  6. I guess I should add that it also means that God wants to glorify himself. Whatever the motive on AI’s part, this is still true.

    Reply

  7. Posted by adamtisdale on April 14, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Thank you Mark…I appreciate this info.

    Reply

  8. Posted by ann on April 16, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    This is what I’m going to be thinking about today: is God glorified by (possible) non-believers singing a praise song?

    Reply

  9. Posted by adamtisdale on April 16, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    The answer to the question is yes (although it is a bit more nuanced than that or could be).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

