Help My Unbelief

Help My Unbelief by John Newton (you may of heard of him or at least sung Amazing Grace); Taken from the Gadsby Hymnal – #278. To hear a contemporary version of this hymn and bunch of other great “new” hymns, please visit Red Mountain Music. There is a deep honesty in this hymn that we are often unwilling to admit, but unless we admit our weakness and struggle, we will never be able to call out to our Helper, our Lord. This is one reason these older hymns are so needed and still relevant to the church today.  Update (to correct previous omission):  The order of the lyrics below represent the Red Mountain Music version, with new music written by Clint Wells.

I know the Lord is nigh,
And would but cannot pray,
For Satan meets me when I try,
And frights my soul away,
And frights my soul away.

I would but can’t repent,
Though I endeavor oft;
This stony heart can never relent
Till Jesus makes it soft,
Till Jesus makes it soft.

Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
My help must come from Thee.

I would but cannot love,
Though wooed by love divine;
No arguments have power to move
A soul as base as mine.
A soul so base as mine.

I would but cannot rest,
In God’s most holy will;
I know what He appoints is best,
And murmur at it still.
I murmur at it still.

Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
Help my unbelief.
My help must come from Thee.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I had never heard this one. Thank you…Thank you for posting it. Often this is the cry of my heart… Help my unbelief… I can’t wait to hear it. Amie

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on May 23, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Amie…you are most welcome. An incredible hymn to remind us…oh how we need reminding. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  3. Posted by chelseykarns on May 27, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    This is a great hymn. My boyfriend introduced me to Red Mountain Music, and he’s let me listen to many of their songs. I don’t know the tune of this one by heart, but the words are so heartfelt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

