May Books

Sadly I only completed reading two books in May, which is a couple off my pace in earlier months. I do think that I can reach my goal of averaging a book a week in 2008, but is not a big deal if I don’t. Without further ado, I give you May Books:

  • How Soccer Explains the World: An Unlikely Explanation of Globalization by Franklin Foer: This book prompted an earlier post on hooliganism or the lack thereof in American (USA) sports. I also gave initial thoughts on what I liked and didn’t like about that book. I really enjoyed the soccer part and found the connection with globalization lacking. In addition, the book was a little uneven and I struggled through a few chapters, while I was enthralled by others. One thing I did greatly appreciate throughout, was the use of phrases or words that were unfamiliar – this made reading this book fun and challenging.
  • Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry: A Trouble Shooting Guide for Church Leaders by Bill Donahue & Russ Robinson: As I have been evaluating and contemplating changes to our community group ministry at Calvary, this has been the best book I have read so far. This is partially due to our context, but also the premise of the book. Far from needing to know why we need community groups/small groups/covenant groups/growth groups/cell groups, I needed to know how to fix what we ‘ve got already. So, it has been very helpful to have a book that goes straight to the point of addressing the issues (for the record, we have broken most of “deadly sins”). The chapters alternate between describing a “sin” and providing some suggestions for correcting the problem. I am still working through all the implications, but this is a great resource for diagnosing and addressing the things that damage small group ministry. One small complaint: I got tired of hearing about how mega-church Willow Creek does things in each of the chapters. That said, they cannot help their context and I did think they offered the right tone (e.g. they were simply offering their thoughts and experiences vs. we are great so do it our way) and readily admitted their mistakes in small group or church ministry.

What are you reading currently or what in print has grabbed your heart/mind recently?

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m intrigued by the soccer (futbol?) book you read, Adam. I’m in a “global media and culture” class right now, and the paper I’m working on is on Major League Baseball and globalization. One person is doing soccer, and another is doing the NBA. I love how sports are becoming more and more of a legitimate subject of study in sociology, economics, communication/media studies, etc.

    Also, I just finished reading Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor (D.A. Carson) – which I gave to my OPC pastor dad for his birthday in the spring, which he read and gave to me to read. It brought me to tears at many points, and was quite encouraging and convicting. I’d recommend it if you haven’t read it already (it’s a quick read, too).

    Joel

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on June 17, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Sounds like a fascinating class. While, yes – sports represent a child’s game magnified, they do provide quite a view into the cultures in which we live and which are changing around us.

    I have not read that book, but will definitely add it to my list of books to get a hold of…thank for the recommendation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

