Respectable Sins: Where do we go from here?

In the final chapter of Respectable Sins, Bridges asks the question that forms the chapter title:  where do we go from here? I’ll use this as an opportunity to reflect (as Bridges does) on the book overall:

  • Bridges is a spirtiual-masochist (I made that up, I think):  “At times, this may have been painful.  I hope it has, because that means you have been honest enough and humble enough to admit the presence of some of these sins in your own life” (177).  But this is so very important for our growth as Christians, especially as most of us make pain (of any kind) avoidance a hobby and a hallmark of American Christianity.
  • Bridges has done a great service to the Church in bring these “respectable sins” to light and helping us see the need to repent of these sins.   Repentance of such sins will help us both in our followship of Christ and in our attractive to non-followers.
  • I appreciate the emphasis in the book on the following:  the daily need of the Gospel in our lives, the power of the knowledge (of the kind that moves toward action) of the Sovereignty of God, the use of Scripture to promote repentance and holiness, and the emphasis on humility.
  • This is a book worth keeping handy as a resource and a help for specific areas of sin, personally or corporately.  We are also going to use it (along with the study guide) in a Sunday School class.
  • I do not have many criticisms of the book and any are minor.  I did feel like the chapter on worldliness was one of the weaker chapters and much of the material could have been dealt with otherwise.  That said, there were still some good thoughts therein.  My friend, Ken, post his thoughts on the book here and would recommend a reordering of chapters and I know others who found the first section of six chapters to be a bit laborious (my words).  I agree in a sense, but I also think those chapters are incredibly important and foundational and glad that Bridges included them.  I wonder do if the same material could have been compressed a little.  I like Ken’s suggestion to move some of those chapters (e.g. Directions for Dealing with Sins) to the end of the book.  Still, Ken and I would both say this criticism is minor and even editorial.
  • Finally, I would highly recommend this book for any individual or for group study desiring to grow in relationship with Christ.  I am glad I decided to “steal” (an unrespectable sin for sure) the idea of “blogging” this book from Ken & Joel!
3 responses to this post.

  1. Adam,

    Congrats on finishing the book!

    Did I say the chapters were laborious? I mainly think they were misplaced. I’m also aware that could just be me & my expectations at work.

    It was indeed a good book. We’re ready for the next book, beginning soon. And no, I’m not telling you what it is. But I highly recommend blogging through “Why We’re Not Emergent.” This is NOT the book we’re doing, but it is excellent, bloggable, relevant material.

    Ken

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on June 26, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    No you didn’t say laborious, that was a mistaken conflation of some other feedback…I edited the blog to reflect this. Thanks for your thoughts and encouragement for sure.

    Reply

  3. I, too, really liked that Bridges was careful to focus on the sovereignty of God throughout, and I liked how you put it: “the power of the knowledge (of the kind that moves toward action) of the Sovereignty of God.” So many of our “respectable” sins come from perhaps only a cursory nod to God’s sovereignty over all things.

    Glad you joined along with us, and I enjoyed your reflections on your blog. Having you a couple chapters behind us was refreshing as a way to revisit past chapters and to be reminded of it. So, thanks!

    -Joel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

