June Books

Here are the books that I completed reading during the month of June and some thoughts on them.  I continue to be near my goal of reading 52 books this year – these four make 24 for the year.

  • The Chase by Clive Cussler:  I had not read a Cussler book in a long time – I used to read the Dirk Pitt novels a lot in high school and college.  The story and writing were not great, but I did enjoy it as a diversionary read.  I also hoped that it would help jump start my reading, since my reading desire had flattened (partially from being sick for a couple of weeks) and in this way, the book succeeded.
  • Walk On: The Spiritual Journey of U2 by Steve Stockman: I am a U2 fan, but not a fanatic.  And so, I found this to be a great read for providing some contextualization of the band and some explanation of their music and their lives.  One major lesson:  U2 would not be who they are had they come out of an American Christian cultural context (one that pushes artists, especially musicians, into the cultural ghetto of CCM).  And for this we can be thankful.  As an aside, in reading this book, I realized that there are some gaping holes in my U2 CD collection.  That said, a day or two after finishing this book, I found used copies of October and War for $2 each!
  • Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges:  I have blogged on every chapter of this book!  You need not look far (on this blog) to my thoughts.
  • The Wounded HealerMinistry in Contemporary Society by Henri Nouwen:  I started reading this as I was preparing to preach on the kind of leadership that recognizes our brokenness from sin, but stands in Christ’s strength (that was last Sunday’s sermon).  I was amazed by the insight into cultural trends and modern pressures on man that Nouwen was able to articulate nearly 40 years ago when he wrote this book.  Each of the four chapters present particular to the minister who positions himself firmly within the depravity and darkness of our world.  The only thing I wish from Nouwen (in this and other books) is a more explicit connection to Christ, His Cross, and His Gospel.  I think it is there, but it often seems cloaked in generalities or must be read into words like “love” (which he very clearly intend in a very counter-cultural way).  Still, I really enjoyed this book and found it helpful in thinking about my role as a pastor and for calling others to Christian leadership.

Here are a few books I am currently reading and enjoying (among others):

  • Thunderstruck by Erik Larsen
  • The Work of the Pastor by William Still
  • Worship Matters by Bob Kauflin (highly recommended; worth buying for the first five chapters alone)
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by edeubanks on July 1, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Good list. I started into The Wounded Healer a couple of years ago and it didn’t strike me, though I generally love Nouwen. I’ll have to give it another look.

    By the way, a fan is a fanatic– it’s just a shortening of the word. Sorry…

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on July 1, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    No apology needed – it was actually an intentional play on words, but maybe it didn’t work (or maybe it did).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

