Evidences of God’s Grace

We recently moved our office desk into our bedroom and it is placed under our window, so as I type this I have just been watching two cardinals (one male & one female) in the backyard.  I’m not a big birdwatcher, but I have been delighted to see the vibrant color of the male cardinal.  I find that there are reminders of God’s grace all around – often it is His common grace to all people.

Have you ever thought of flowers in a hospital room as evidence of God’s grace?  I find I am tempted to think of them as just a way to brighten up an often sterile environment. Grace often seems lacking or withheld in the midst of our trials. We have trouble seeing through the clouds of our sorrow or fears.  But this morning, I thought anew.  Hospital visits are often draining emotionally for me, but I saw the flowers on this visit in a different way. They lifted my spirits – really the Lord lifted them.  Their beauty reminded me of the connection of that we have with the Creator of the universe, whom we have access to through Christ.  It changes my reading of Scripture – it changes my thinking and I hope it changes the way I suffer, when suffering comes.

Psalm 121
1 I lift up my eyes to the hills—
where does my help come from?

2 My help comes from the LORD,
the Maker of heaven and earth.

3 He will not let your foot slip—
he who watches over you will not slumber;

4 indeed, he who watches over Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Adam, thanks for this post. I just came across your blog tonight and the thought of flowers in a hospital room was very encouraging to me. I have to do a lot of hospital visits, and they are very draining. I never thought to consider flowers in this way. I am looking forward to my next hosptial visit (I hope there are flowers in the room).

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on July 14, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    So glad to provide the encouragement. I find, more than anything, I need more of God’s perspective on my life and my calling. Thank you for leaving a comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

