July Books

Goal <to read 52 completed books in 2008> Update:  27 – That puts me off pace a little bit, but it’s just a goal.

  • Thunderstruck by Eric Larson:  This might be considered literary non-fiction.  Larson tells two stories that become interwoven at the end of the book.  One story is about Marconi and the development of the radiotelegraph.  The other story is about Dr. Hawley Harvey Crippen and his famous crime at the turn of the century. Larson is a good story-teller, but some of the more technical portions (especially regarding Marconi) are not as smooth and thus detract from the overall enjoyment of reading – at least for me.  It was interesting Overall, it was an enjoyable read.
  • The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly:  I have been reading Connelly’s Detective Bosch series for awhile and have always enjoyed his writing and storylines.  This book has a very different character as the protagonist: a criminal defense lawyer.  This was a reasonably quick read for me and I have one complaint:  I wish Connelly had kept one of the main characters shrouded in a little more mystery (particularly regarding their guilt or innoncence).
  • The Art of Pastoring:  Ministry Without All the Answers by David Hansen:  This, by far, is one of my favorites reads this year.  Hansen writes about pastoral ministry in a way that is often lacking:  his focus is on the “being” of ministry, much more than the “doing.”  In this way, Hansen reminds me of another favorite author: Eugene Peterson.  This is a must read for pastors and would also help lay-people understand more the life of a pastor.  I also recommend Hansen’s Loving the Church You Lead.

I am still reading William Still’s The Work of a Pastor and am interested to compare these two books on pastoring.  So far, the content is similar, but the delivery of that content is very different (Hansen is a story-teller for one).

Also reading:  Manalive by G.K Chesterton  (the Vanity Fair picture below hangs on our living room wall)

One response to this post.

  1. Adam,

    When I first started a blog, I did it for myself — because I wanted to put thoughts in writing. If anyone actually read it, let alone commented, that was a bonus.

    I find that this is the best attitude to have. When I’m too concerned about attracting an audience, it diminishes the joy by 100fold.

    My more recent realization for myself has been: “Greatly limit quotes and recommendations.” I found myself NOT writing original thoughts but instead passing along those of others. I think this is good if we truly reflect on them, but not if it’s a substitute for original thinking/writing. And I also fear that those who are not pastors and/or voracious readers will feel overwhelmed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

