A few early Olympics reflections

Like many of you, I have enjoyed watching some of the olympics, most especially the swimming competitions at this point.  Here are a few random thoughts/reflections

  • Last night’s 4 x 100 relay had to be one of the most exciting 3+ minutes of sporting competition that I have seen in some time.  Incredible finish!
  • Question:  Why is it necessary to have a group hug after every point scored in volleyball?
  • I notice a trend back to the early olympics tradition of not wearing any clothes while competing.
  • Early contender for best name:  Prapawadee Jaroenrattanatarakoon from Thailand who won a gold medal in women’s weightlifting, a “sport” I fail to understand.  Can you imagine filling out the scantron form with that name.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Response to your second question:
    I was up late last night. Couldn’t sleep. Did some praying but I still couldn’t sleep. So, I made my way to the living room to watch the Olympics.

    The girls Volleyball team was on TV. I witnessed them doing exactly as you mention in your blog, and I was perplexed with their extensive hugging. Is it a female thing? I don’t know. I know that our cafe female volunteers do not do this everytime they successfully whip together a delish hot chocolate.

    We don’t even hug when we witness Jesus transforming a life. Maybe we should? Maybe it’s good for the soul. Hugging is something I guess I could try to employ at the cafe.

    Just a thought,
    Tim Van Arsdale
    Author, You’ve Got Spam! a refreshing collection of e-mails regarding mercy ministry

    Reply

  2. Posted by adamtisdale on August 13, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Tim: I wish the answer were so easy, but it was watching the men’s team play that prompted the question. But, you should definitely try that at the cafe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

