Running Scared: Final Post

Read about what I’m doing here (including the schedule for posts). Part one here.  Part two here.  Part three here and here.  Part four here.  Part five here.  Part six here.  Part seven here.

This brings us to the end of Edward Welch’s good book, Running Scared, with the reading of the last few chapters.  Again, as with the other chapters of this last section, there was not a lot new material, but still a lot of good reminders. Mostly, I was reminded of what I liked about this book as a whole:

  • The idea of Kingdom allegiances and how this is a fight that I will face in my life, especially in light of my fears.
  • Similarly, my fears can actually be good indicators of where that fight is taking place if I am willing to listen to what my fears say.
  • Welch is refreshingly real and honest in his writing of this book.  I particularly liked the “personal response” at the end of each section.
  • The Cross of Christ is held up for us to see, understand, believe, & trust again and again.  I find I need this constant reminding.
  • Like Ken Sande’s book, The Peacemaker,  did for me in addressing my reactions/relationship to conflict, this book has helped me think about my fears, worry, and anxiety.
  • As I mentioned in an earlier post, I appreciated the biblical teaching and how Welch connected the dots across the biblical story.
  • I am asking different questions now…questions like:  “what does God call me to right now?”  and “how do I hope?”  (these were discussed in the last few chapters).

If you have been reading (the book or posts), thanks for joining on this journey.

Don’t forget the next blogging the book on A Journey Worth Taking.

Leave a Reply

