Slice of Life: “don’t let him see this”

Context:  Last night.  My wife is out to dinner with some friends and E & K are having what we call “snuggle” time, but is really just a brief and hopefully quiet playtime for the kids before they are separated for bedtime.

This little episode starts with me hearing the sound of what might be a large bucket of legos being dumped out all over the floor in E’s room (we have hardwood floors).

Me:  Don’t make a mess (is there anything more ineffectual than yelling from another room not to make a mess, when you know good and well the mess has already happened?)

E & K:  No response

Twenty minutes later…E comes out to tell me that he needs to use the bathroom.  On his way to the bathroom he stops to give some instructions to K.  He, of course thinks he is being quiet and actually whispers:  Don’t let him see this!

Being the brilliant father that I am, I put the loud sound of legos together with E’s “whispered” instructions.  Now, you might think that I would go to investigate at that point, but no, I showed remarkable restraint and waited until E was back in his room.  I gently poked my head in the door to see my son surrounded by a thousand lego pieces scattered across the floor of his room (I don’t think this is hyperbole). 

E:  you weren’t suppose to see this.

Me: Ah, yes son, I know.  You’ll have to clean this up soon.

Later, I asked him what he was doing and he told me that he had been looking for particular pieces so that he could make a special helicopter gunship (he is a boy afterall).  And, to his credit, he cleaned up and talked his sister into helping – at least a little.  And yes, I helped some too.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Helen Lee on October 2, 2008 at 11:29 am

    You see what happens when you let Lydia go out to dinner? You are granted opportunities to learn parenting lessons galore. Sounds like you did just the right thing by maintaining your cool–and the legos are back in their box waiting for the next helicopter gunship assembly. This story brings back many warm lego memories with my own kids. Catch your breath, because tomorrow they’ll be in college.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tag on October 7, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I’m really glad for you, Adam, that E builds helicopter gunship lego creations for you to take pride in. I find that Nora builds spaceships, but then somehow they always end up landing at her dollhouse for tea. Ian is getting closer. He at least wants to put wheels on everything, but he hasn’t graduated to missles and guns yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

