Sermon mischief

This is worse than texting during the sermon, methinks.  (HT:  Colossians Three Sixteen)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gina on October 13, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I’m trying to picture you in tights and a cape. Or better yet–MARK in tights and a cape. Y’know, Halloween is just around the corner…all things to all men, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gina on October 13, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Or more like…everything is permissible…

    Reply

  3. When we were in St. Louis, a mom at the school I taught at (who also happened to attend our church) gave me wise counsel: “don’t use movies as sermon illustrations.”

    There have been a couple of times when I’ve violated this, but by and large I think it is excellent advice. Whether it is because they are sick of hearing the Lord of the Rings illustrations (and believe me, I am too) or because they are from a generation (generally, most folks older than 40ish) who simply don’t watch many movies, they don’t work for everyone.

    My guess is that this article is right– it appeals to those younger than 20 greatly. But I’d bet he doesn’t have many over 35, or that the ones he has aren’t thrilled about his sermon series.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

