Ultimate Worship Leader?

As I was running an errand, I was listening to one of the Christian radio stations that we have in our area (yes, I do this form time to time).  I have a on-again, off-again relationship with “Christian radio”.  On one hand, sometimes I enjoy listening to some of the music, especially if it leads me to praise and reflect upon God.  On the other hand, sometimes the music is just bad and the lyrics can be insipid at best (in general, I think this has gotten better over the years).  Anyway, that’s another conversation.  So, this station is running a promotion:  Ultimate Worship Leader.  And what is the grand prize you ask:

For one Sunday morning service Michael W. Smith will come and lead worship at your church.

Doesn’t that sound fantastic!? Or, does that bother you a little bit?

It bothers me because it seems to trivialize and celebritize (I may have just made that word up) worship.  It bothers me because it is everything that is wrong with worship in evangelicalism:  we are looking for an experience (and don’t tell me that having a big-named Christian music artist lead worship at your church wouldn’t be an “experience” – by definition it is designed to be such).  We want to be in awe of our creation, rather than the Creator.  Finally, this places Smith in the position that God alone should be in:  the place of reverence and even excitement. (never mind what this says about the “average”/humble worship leader).  I think this is just a bad promotion all the way around.

And besides, Jesus is the Ultimate Worship Leader!

For it was fitting that he, for whom and by whom all things exist, in bringing many sons to glory, should make the founder of their salvation perfect through suffering.  For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one origin.  That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers, saying, ‘I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise.'” (ESV)

Leave a Reply

