Reflections upon the Election

Here are a few random thoughts on the Election from the perspective of this Christian

  • First and foremost, Obama is our new president because the Lord has placed him in this position (Daniel 4:17,25,32; Proverbs 8:15; Romans 13:1-2 to name a few).  This does not mean that I  understand God’s purposes, but I do take comfort in Romans 8:28-30.
  • I voted for McCain, but I never placed my hopes in him.  I do not think the same can be said for scores of people who voted for Obama.  There will never be a Savior in the White House.  This is the danger of the change rhetoric and there has already been moves by Obama’s campaign to temper expectations.
  • Christians have a great opportunity to point others to the true Savior and King – this is always our calling and would be true still if McCain had been elected.  Mark Driscoll has a great blog post along these lines here.
  • I think we have a great system of government in general and I do think that it is a privilege to vote.  And as I write, I think of our military men and women who courageously guard our freedom and protect those rights (thank you!)
  • McCain’s concession speech was great – I thought he was incredibly gracious and struck the proper tone despite the obvious disappointment.  I do not think any Republican was going to win this election given the perfect storm of recent events.
  • I also found Obama’s speech to be powerful and eloquent.  This is certainly one of his strengths, but that doesn’t mean he will or won’t be a great president.
  • The “Yes We Can” refrain very clearly draws on the call & response that is typical of African-American churches.  It was part of the power of his speech.
  • It is interesting that Obama’s white heritage has been subsumed by the African heritage of his father.  I suppose he truly is an African-American.  On this note, I do think we can rejoice with those who rights have been trampled simply because of the color of their skin.  That said, this in no means ends racism and may make things worse in some corners.
  • If you didn’t catch my drift in the first point…I do not despair because of my strong belief and hope in the sovereignty of God.  This does not mean that I am not concerned, especially for the unborn.
  • We should pray for the Obama presidency (1 Timothy 2:1-3).
  • I am preaching on Romans 13:1-7, so a lot more of my thoughts on this topic are going to be honed through my preparation these next few day.

What are your thoughts the day after?

2 responses to this post.

  1. thanks for this Adam. i actually just finished posting my thoughts as well, though i have to say that i liked yours better.

    Reply

  2. thanks Joel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

