November Books

Here are the books that I completed reading during the month of November:

  • City of Ember by Jeanne Duprau:  Over the summer, I saw a trailer for a movie based on this book written for “young adults” and my interest was piqued.  This is partially due to the fact that there seem to be very few original stories that are being told through popular film.  As it is, I enjoyed this book and think the strength of the book lies in the author’s creation of this unknown world/city.  The book also does well in crafting an adventure for the two main characters, but it also feels as if the end (the resolution) comes too quickly.  Apparently there are several more books in this series – I’ll have to check them out.  I have not seen the movie, but it did not get good reviews or last long in the theaters.
  • ?  by ?:  I keep a word document listing the books that I have read during the year and the date that I completed reading a book.  Well, sometimes I get lazy and don’t log a book right away.  The very reason I started this kind of log a few years was because of my propensity to forget some of the books that I have read.  This is the case here…I cannot remember the second book that I completed (must of made quite an impact!), but know that I did.  Then again, maybe I am deceiving myself so that I will reach my reading goal (52 completed books in 2008). I figured it out (Joel’s question in the comments sparked my brain…thanks Joel!)  Such a Strange Lady by Janet Hitchman:  This is a biography on the life of Dorothy L. Sayers.  She was very unique and intelligent women who worked in advertising, wrote a popular detective series (Lord Peter Wimsey – the namesake of our cat) among other writings, was a dramatist/playwright (most notably The Man Born To Be King), and translator of Dante in the early to mid 20th century.  It was very interesting to read about her life and some of her quirks.  She was a devoted Christian, but also had her share of sin in her life.  I really enjoyed reading about Sayers and appreciating even more the gifts for communication, primarily through the written word.
  • A Journey Worth Taking by Charles Drew:  I have been blogging through this book during the fall (a book of the quarter selection at Calvary).  There has been much that I have appreciated about this book and have drawn on a number of principles within in my teaching and discipleship activities in the church.  That said, the chapters often feel choppy and lacking a coherent theme.  That is more a comment on style of writing rather than content (which is very good) and would be especially helpful to those who are in high school-young professionals.
  • Francis Schaeffer: An Authentic Life by Colin Duriez:  Having read a couple of books of Schaeffer’s during my time at Covenant Seminary (there is a strong connection between Covenant & Schaeffer), I figured that it was time I learned a little more about his life (beyond the basics).  This is a sympatheic biography, though it does touch on some of the criticsms that have been levied at Schaeffer through the years.  It was very helpful to have the context of Schaeffer’s life to understand his writing and the direction of his life.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Adam, what’s your recommendation on the Schaefer bio? Worth it? I’ve heard mixed things about Duriez’s biographies, and this one piqued my interest…

    Reply

  2. Joel:

    I think the main thing is that it is what I called “sympathetic”. There is very little criticism in this biography, though it does touch on a flaw here and there. For me, it was helpful to understand the details of his life and the context in which he wrote. The writing style is very clear and while chronological, it does follow some themes. Challies has a very positive review on Amazon as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

