Banner of Hope

I am not inclined to tell you, dear reader, what to do, as I am uncertain of our relationship.  That said, I would highly recommend that you read this story (for more read here).  I love when we see echoes of the Kingdom of God through sports, though it was really through the selfless acts of a school, their football team, and their fans.  If you are friend…read it now!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Tag on December 24, 2008 at 2:18 am

    I think this sentence really says it all. I nearly cried when I read it:
    “It was that way all night, with Faith parents encouraging players they knew only by their jersey numbers to tackle their own sons…”

    Thinking as a father, I wonder if my son were on a team like the Lions if I would have wanted him to play the game. Would I have cheered on inmates to tackle my son? My only son?

    And then I consider our Father in heaven and how he provided His only son to be tackled by our broken world. Just this morning I read again John 10:17-18 “I lay down my life that I may take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.”

    Thanks for sharing the article, Adam!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

