My favorite part of the Inauguration

This was my favorite part of the Presidential Inauguration:

  • I missed Warren’s invocation and watched later – I thought he did a good job and made clear that he was praying in the name of Jesus.
  • Didn’t understand the poem, nor found it particularly poetic.
  • The President’s speech was rhetorically good, but not great, by my estimation.
  • The Benediction was odd.
  • I liked watching the spectacle of it all and understand (to a degree) why so many people made the journey to Washington.  It is and should be meaningful to African-Americans, but many have made an idol of President Obama (thus my concern…aside from political concerns).

The Big Picture also has their collection of photos from the Inauguration, including an awesome overhead shot of the entire mall.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gina on January 23, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Big names all around – but oh my goodness, to have those instruments out in the cold…I bet intonation was a nightmare.

    Reply

  2. Just read on foxnews that they had to use a recording because it was too cold to play – though the musicians did actually play (it just wasn’t amplified)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

