March Books

Here are the books that I completed reading during the month of March:

  • The Innocent Man by John Grisham:  I’ve read just about every book that Grisham has written (The Testament is one of my favorite novels) and this is another of his legal thrillers with one major difference – it’s a non-fiction account surrounding one particular individual that, as you can figure from the title, was innocent of crimes that he was convicted of in a small Oklahoma town.  I enjoyed reading this book and considering the various “characters” – no shortage of sin and the effect of sin at any number of levels.
  • A Gospel Primer for Christians:  Learning to See the Glories of God’s Love by Milton Vincent:  I loved reading this book and am so thankful for it’s contribution to my understanding and glorying in the truths and outworking of the Gospel (of which Vincent spend significant time describing).  There wasn’t anything that I haven’t necessarily heard before, but Vincent shows how deep the Gospel is and the place of the Gospel in the life of the believer on a daily basis.  I have loaned this book out and when I get it back I will post a few things from the book to give a flavor of it’s content.  This book is highly, highly recommended.
  • A Test of Wills by Charles Todd:  This is the first book in Todd’s series of mysteries featuring Inspector Ian Rutledge set in England after the First Great War (WWI), a war which has left deep marks on Rutledge.  I enjoyed aspects of this novel and found the mystery to be sufficiently surprising, I think it left something to be desired – possibly in the pacing and flow of the book.  I will likely try the next Rutledge novel and see how things progress.
  • A Corpse in the Koryo by James Church:  I really enjoyed reading this mystery, featuring Inspector O, which is set in North Korea.  This novel is a little bit of murder mystery and a little bit of North Korean national dynamics at work.  Part of what I enjoyed reading about was the context created by the communist government of North Korea – it is not hard to imagine that things are the way that Church writes (Church is the pseudonym for a former Western Intelligence officer with decades of experience in Asia, according to the author byline).  I have the next Inspector O novel and may start it soon.
  • Mortgage Confidential by David Reed:  I found this to be a very accessible and helpful book.  Although, we have gone through the home-buying and mortgage application process before when we came to Norfolk, I thought it would be helpful to understand the process a little better.
  • Repentance & 20th Century Man by C. John Miller:  Hosea 6 & 7 got me thinking about the topic of repentance, so I borrowed this book from a friend.  This is a great little book on repentance – I especially appreciated Miller’s discussion of a false or man-centered repentance early on in the book.  As a whole, Miller drives the reader again and again to the person and work of Jesus Christ.   This book has been republished under the title Repentance:  A Daring Call To Surrender (available through Westminster Bookstore).
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by David on April 2, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Adam- Thank you for your kind words about my book, I hope it helped…God bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

