Quote: Churchless Christianity

From Ministry Today Magazine:

QUOTE: “I see the church derided with mockery and scorn. I see critics exaggerating her weaknesses and incapable of affirming any of her strengths. I see many leaving the church instead of loving her for better or for worse. I see lots of my peers who have 20/20 vision for the church’s failings, but are nearsighted to their own pride, self-importance and mutual self-congratulation. … Increasingly, we hear glowing talk of a churchless Christianity. …These days, spirituality is hot; religion is not. Community is hip, but the church is lame. [But] we don’t want Christians to give up on the church.” —Kevin DeYoung, pastor of University Reformed Church in East Lansing, Mich., on why he and a member of his congregation decided to co-author the book Why We Love the Church: In Praise of Institutions and Organized Religion [christianpost.com, 7/20/09]”

DeYoung has turned into a prolific blogger, especially compared to this one, with great original thinking and reflection.  I read the first book that DeYoung authored and loved it – hopefully I can pick this one up sometime soon.


One response to this post.

  1. I’ve been really enjoying DeYoung’s work – blog and books – recently. I just picked up Why We Love the Church and am definitely looking forward to it as well. I also just finished his Just Do Something, which was very, very excellent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

