More Used Books…

I can stop anytime I want.  But last Friday, I found a few more books to add to my library at two used bookstores:

Like most library systems, the Huntsville-Madison County Library has a Friends of the Library bookstore.  Here is what I found there:

  • Promise and Deliverance, Vol 4 (Christ and the Nations). by S. G. De Graaf:  I was most excited to find this hardback volume of an out of print set that shows the Christ-centeredness of all of Scripture (Redemptive-Historical) , with selected passages from Scripture.  We were encouraged to use this set in seminary.  Now I just need to find the other three volumes – which I can do for a price. ($1)
  • Whatever Happened to the Human Race? by C. Everett Koop and Francis Schaeffer:  published in 1979 and 1983, this book deals with human life issues (abortion, infanticide, & euthanasia) and what it means for our society.  (25 cents)
  • A Treatise on the Preparation and Delivery of Sermons by John Broadus (revised by Dargan in 1898):  This is a 1926 hardback edition of a classic work on homiletics. (75 cents)

Then at The Booklegger, my new favorite used bookstore in town, I bought a couple of other books.

  • Reaching Out:  The Three Movements of the Spiritual Life by Henri Nouwen:  I have been blessed by a couple of Nouwen’s other books that have helped me to think about pastoral ministry and spirituality.  ($3)
  • Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell:  I have greatly enjoyed Gladwell’s previous two books and was delighted to find a used copy. ($4.50)

Now, if I can just find some quiet time to read…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Good find on the Broadus book. And I’m jealous of the Nouwen book.

    Also, you’ll really like Outliers.

    Reply

  2. You found an old copy of the Broadus? I just heard about this book for the first time yesterday (can you guess where?) and I thought, “Wow, I wonder if you can find an old copy.”

    “Reaching Out” is excellent. Gina and I have both read it. He says some great stuff about prayer and community…wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

