Evaluation Questions from Judges 2:10

At our North Hills men’s breakfast this past Saturday (normally on the first Saturday of every month) we talked about the failure of the second generation to follow and know the Lord from Judges 2:10

And all that generation also were gathered to their fathers. And there arose another generation after them who did not know the Lord or the work that he had done for Israel.

Gary Inrig’s book Hearts of Iron, Feet of Clay provides three  causes for their failure to know the Lord and from those I asked the men three corresponding questions.

  1. Am I happy with the status quo?  Am I satisfied with what I have and where I am that I do not need the Lord?  Have I become spiritually complacent.
  2. Have I taken the Lord for granted?  Have I failed to acknowledge his work in my life?  (We looked at the following verses to go along with these questions:  Deuteronomy 6:10-12 & 8:11-18, Hebrews 2:1, I Thessalonians 5:18).
  3. Have I neglected God’s Word?  Inrig makes the point that we see almost no reference to the study of Scripture in the book of Judges.

Read Judges 2:11-15 to see the results of this failure to know the Lord and his work.  It’s not a pretty picture.

Leave a Reply

