Letters To My Sheep: I Need Sunday

~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t have weeks you would rather forget.  Like last week for me. It’s not that anything was awful, but maybe the accumulation of struggles, disappointments, frustrations, etc…
~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t deal with illness or illness your family.  Last week, Ethan & Kara both stayed home from school during because they had some type of  stomach bug.  Though I never came down with it, I suspect I was dealing with something as I felt bad most of the week from Wednesday – Sunday.
~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t wrestle with the sometime difficult dynamics of personal relationships.
~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t have professional disappointments.
~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t find yourself getting cranky, or irritated, or mildly depressed, as I realized I was becoming as the week wore on, even though there isn’t any particular big reason for it.  I really started to feel it when my installation of some quarter-round in Ethan’s room took a frustrating turn on Saturday afternoon.  It wasn’t that big a deal and I was trying to do something productive – even though I didn’t feel great – but I realized I just needed to stop.
~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t lose perspective by letting small things become big things.

~And maybe you’re not like me and don’t need Sunday Worship as much as I do.  Sunday’s are obviously a big part of my job – while much happens behind the scenes, Sunday is when most of you see me being a pastor.  And so Sundays, in some ways, are just something I do.  That is one of the hazards of ministry – letting what we do become who we are (that’s true for anyone really).  I didn’t realize how much I needed to worship until after I got home from church on Sunday afternoon.  Usually, I am emotionally, physcially, and spiritually drained after teaching, preaching, and pastoring on Sunday afternoon.  That’s another thing that comes with the territory.   But Sunday was different.  I felt energized and felt that my countenance had been lifted – I felt different than I had all week.  But more than mere feelings, as important as those may be, something else was going on.   Here are five things I think about why I needed last Sunday’s Worship and every Sunday (whether I realize it or not).

  • I was doing what I was made to do.  I don’t mean my job/vocation.  I mean giving glory & praise to our Lord (makes me think of this – Q. Why did God make you and all things?  For His own glory).
  • Worship gives and restores perspective – through our songs, our prayers, the Preached Word (even and especially if it’s coming from my mouth!), the Sacrament of Communion, our fellowship, etc…
  • Worship isn’t about forgetting our troubles, but about our being transformed from the inside by our Sovereign Lord.
  • Worship, when we recognize that it is corporate, also helps to see that we are not alone in our challenges & struggles.
  • Worship places our focus squarely where it belongs.

~Maybe you’re not like me and don’t need Sunday Worship as much as I do, but I think you probably are.  Even if you don’t want to admit it.

Leave a Reply

