Fighting for the Greater Reality

images

The longer I live, the more and more I am convinced that a large part of the Christian life is a fighting for the greater reality of God at work in our lives.  A fighting for perspective that see beyond the moment we live in at the present, for the reality that is both our present and our future.  We are a myopic bunch – we can only see what is right in front of us.  Meanwhile, God is ordering our days and nights, is present with us in real ways – especially through His Spirit, and is keeping His promises.

This fighting has been much of what my last week has been about – at least in my mind and in the quiet moments when I consider “what in the world are you doing, God?!”  As you may have read in my last blog post, I didn’t fair well during, but especially after the last chemotherapy cycle.  I was emotionally, physically, and spiritually spent – and not in a good way.

One of the reasons this was true, I have come to believe, is that I lost the mental/emotional/spiritual fight for perspective before I ever started.  This time, two weeks ago, I began to feel a sense of dread and foreboding.  I knew what was coming and I hated it.  I was defeated going in and I came out defeated coming out.  I did not fight for the greater reality of God’s goodness and His faithfulness.  It wasn’t that I was actively doubting those, but I wasn’t fighting to see them either.  If your honest, you do the same thing in your life and in the struggles you face.  And don’t diminish those struggles, just because you are not struggling like I am.  This is a common Christian experience – I think.  We forget that “God has not given us a spirit of timidity (or fear), but of power and love and discipline.” (1 Timothy 1:7).

Another verse that has been much on my mind, is 2 Corinthians 5:7:  “we walk by faith, not by sight.”  I am learning in new ways what that means.  For me, right now, it means that I have to trust that God will be faithful to the promises He has made in His Word (to comfort the afflicted, to come near to those who are low, to hear & even answer prayers, etc).  And to trust especially when I cannot see where His answer are coming from.  That is the faith that sees, despite not seeing.  That is the way the Christian fights for perspective and for the greater reality, even when what is seen out of my two eyeballs seems to scream that God has left me, doesn’t care, or isn’t there.  Those of the lies of the evil one, who does not give me a pass on his evil attack on me or God’s reputation, just because I’m going through chemotherapy.  No, that’s actually makes me ripe.  All the more reason to engage in this battle.

And how do we engage in this fight?  It’s both simple and profound.  Pray, read Scripture, seek encouragement from the Body, worship & rejoice in the goodness and faithfulness that can be seen (if we open our eyes there is much), reflect on how God has come near in past circumstances, journal/write/blog your thoughts, have coffee with a friend who will speak truth into your life.  To name a few.  Thank you for joining me in this fight where you can ad for learning to fight your own battles.   This moment is real, but it is not the only reality.  Fight for the greater reality.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Teresa Anglim on June 11, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing. Though I finished my journey April 2012, trying to explain to a very Catholic family how I was trusting and fighting in my own way, and God knew where I was during my journey, was so difficult. They insisted I go to church, really (winter time, closed up, sneezing, coughing, compromised immune system) no way!!!

    I have to agree 100% that state of mind coming and going from treatments will impact us! The weeks where I wanted to quit, throw in the towel, fuss at God, I felt horrible. The trips where I relished all around me, sat in a chair where I could see the water and nature outside the treatment center, have my one on one with the big guy, I faired so much better!
    Thanks for sharing! Hugs

    Reply

  2. Thank you Teresa for your comment and encouragement!

    Reply

  3. […] and sight.  Adam Tisdale is a pastor in Alabama who is fighting cancer.  He recently wrote an article on this topic on his blog.  I hope you will read it and gain greater insight to the bigger picture […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by J. Cilliers on November 21, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Maybe it is during such hard times that we should have the view of Richard Wurmbrand in the communist jail: I will then remain faithlessly His.

    Reply

  5. […] This moment is real. But it is not the only reality. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

