The Voice of Despair

I have been thinking about something in a sermon that I preached quite awhile ago that I remembered recently.  Something I need to hear and be reminded of right now.  From my sermon on 1 Samuel 27 (if you want to see the Scriptural context), I made this bit of application <in italics below> in one of the main points:  

      The voice of despair speaks into our lives, as well.  If you think about it, you will realize that we are always speaking to ourselves.  We have conversations with ourselves about our lives.   I’m not talking about hearing voices, nor am I trying to psychoanalyze here.  I’m talking about the inner monologue or even dialogue (if we get to arguing with ourselves) that takes place in our heart.    One commentator said that “all of us propagandize our souls”.   And if the propaganda is something other than the truth of God’s Word, His Character, His Sufficiency, His Promise, then we are in trouble and might begin to look to Philistia for our salvation, than to the Lord.   

    Who would you say is David’s greatest enemy?  The easy answer is Saul.   And certainly Saul has been a great enemy of David.  But the reality is that David is his own worst enemy at this very point.   And we are our own worst enemies.   We too look for heavenly comfort from earthly sources.  We buy into the idea, telling ourselves this lie, that “if only” I had or I was  __________, then everything would be okay.   And those lies then shape our decisions and the direction of our lives.    David is the fainting king.  And we’re just like him – not kings mind you – but full of fainting, faltering faith.

What does the voice of despair say to you?  What do you say to yourself in dark moments?  Where are you tempted to run instead of the Lord?  And what does God say to you, about you and about your circumstances?  My guess is that they are quite different, if we actually get around to seeing what God’s Word has to say to us.  I know that that is my need. I need a different voice in my head and you probably do to.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for your post. I think we are blinded by what we see in the flesh/circumstance. We need to be in God’s word daily because that is what is truly TRUTH. Our circumstances are just that, circumstances. Despair is erased by truth. Psalm 10:3 tells us that if we seek the Lord, we will never lack any good thing (go hungry). Of course, this is spiritual fulfillment but that is why you may see or hear of one person with a terminal illness full of joy and another person with terminal illness full of despair!

    They both have the same opportunity to best the circumstance!
    Best, Christina

    Reply

  2. Posted by JP on April 6, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    Wow, I was on BI and “stumbled” on your site from your profile over there. I have to say God had to be directing me here because this is exactly what I needed to hear at this moment in time. Thanks,Rev

    Reply

  3. Posted by Brett Cody on April 11, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Awesome reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

