Help my memory

Since one of the tools for fighting our “respectable sins” that Jerry Bridges is consistently bringing to our attention is bible memory, I thought I would share a bible memorization tool that I have been using since the beginning of the year.  It’s called Bible Memory (imagine that) and it uses email and web components to help you memorize a verse a week.  To be honest, I have not been that diligent, but it has helped me a great deal in memorizing Scripture.  Every day (except Sunday) I receive an email that provides a link to the verse that I am memorizing.  The first day you type in all of the words of the verse you are memorizing (provided).  Days two through five provide a word missing to fill in and then on day six you have to type the whole verse.  If you haven’t learned the verse you can start over or if you learn it quickly you can go to the next verse.  There  is also a review program that you can use.  Probably the most helpful thing for me is to get the daily email as a reminder.

“I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.” Psalm 119:11

4 responses to this post.

  1. that sounds like a great tool – i’m going to have to check it out, thanks for the referral!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for mentioning the program, Adam!

    Reply

  3. Posted by adamtisdale on May 22, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Glad to help!

    Reply

  4. Cool– good catch on this program. I’ll try it out.

    I agree with your premise: lately, Romans 6:14 has been running through my head when I face temptation… “Sin shall not be your master, because you are not under law, but under grace.”

    Reply

Leave a comment